when the romance of missions crashes into reality…

Driving my car to the island…

It’s 7pm.  I’ve been up since 3am, out and driving since 4:30am.  Not a big deal unless you’ve only been sleeping a few hours a day dealing with jetlag and an equally frustrated child.  We arrived in the Philippines a couple of days ago.  Shortly after getting supplies ready, we packed up and I left for the 2-day ordeal of getting to the small island of Catanduanes.  Amy will be leaving on Monday, flying out with Josiah.

Jem and I just arrived in Naga City.  It was a ten-hour drive.  Jem has been a lifesaver, being a native Bicolano.  I feel safe with him as the navigator, even though we still got lost.  It could’ve been a much shorter trip but I missed one pesky little right turn.  That cost us 2 incredibly demanding hours.  And now I’m sitting in the lobby of a cheesy hotel, half-awake but too tired to sleep in my creepy closet space of a room.

Let me say this.  Our drive was the most spectacular and beautiful road trip I have ever taken…and I’ve done a ton of driving and traveling around the world.  The Bicol region of the Philippines is gorgeous.  Except for uncountable near death, head on collisions, I enjoyed our trip.

I guess I’ll turn in.  I have to be up at 1am to drive to the port of Tabaco, 2-3 hours away.  We’ve got to get my car loaded up on the ferry and sail for several hours before landing in unfamiliar territory.  Let’s see what happens.

Give us strength oh Lord!

One response

  1. Roy B. Vallez

    My prayers are with you, my Spirit rises with your
    Spirit, and our Lord Jesus reigns. Love and miss you all!!

    O.G. 4 Jesus!!
    Your Bro.
    Roy

    January 10, 2012 at 3:27 am

Leave a comment